Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Cowboy Bebop

I remember watching this when Adult Swim first came out back in 2001 and I think the first episode of this series I saw was episode 5 “Ballad of Fallen Angels”. Watching this I was a little lost until I saw the whole show start to finish. People today have reviewed this in America since it came out in 1998 and surprised at how American it was. Also, it’s still on Adult Swim being rerun and rerun since that’s how good it is.

The director Shinichiro Watanabe also did Samurai Champloo, Space Dandy, and Boys on the Slope, which I haven”t seen yet. Though I did see Samurai Champloo and Space Dandy and they were amazing and I will get to those shows soon. Even heard Cowboy Bebop in Japan wasn’t much of a bit hit, but here though it WAS a bit hit probably because it’s so appealing to the western audiences.

The story is about the near future where people are in barely in space and crime has gotten so bad that bounty hunters do most of the work. There’s also a lot of homages to the western audience as well and can get cerebral too at times. It also has a lot of character building as well, like our main hero Spike Spiegel taking Bruce Lee’s philosophy of the water to heart.

Half of the show is creating this world and the characters that will soon meet up together as well. Like the fighter Spike, the ex-cop Jet, the dog Eine which is super intelligent, the con artist lady Fay, and the kid hacker Edward. At the end, I was kind of sad just because these shows were so good back then but if Cowboy Bebop did go on it would probably get too boring or take forever. Almost like One Piece, not that I hate One Piece it’s just like it’s afraid to end, also hope it won’t end up being the exact opposite of what it’s about like some shows that go on almost forever. You can also see my One Piece review for that but it’s kinda short.

Anyway, this anime is a legend and a must watch regardless of how old it is. The voice cast for the English dub I think did so good they do other voices as well. It’s on Funimation Now and Crunchyroll and you can get it on DVD and Blu-ray as well.

 

